Monday, December 6, 2010


Srinagar, Dec 06 (Only Kashmir):-Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir Dr Asgar Hassan Samoon issued warrants under Public Safety Act against five persons involved in Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances. The accused are Gulzar Ahmed Parray S/o Mohammed Amin Parray, Sajad Ahmed Parray S/o Ghulam Mohammed Parray, Manzoor Ahmed Parray S/o Mohammed Hatam Parray, Nisar Ahmed Bhat S/o Abdul Rashid Bhat and Abdul Hamid Parray @ Nikka S/o Ghulam Mohammed Parray all residents of Chursoo, Katpora Awantipore (District Pulwama).
Under the Prevention of Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act, 1988 the Central and State Governments are empowered to make orders of detention with respect to any person, including a foreigner, if they are of the opinion that it is necessary so to do, with a view to preventing them from committing illicit traffic in narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances, which includes cultivation of opium poppy or any cannabis plant, or engaging in the production, manufacture, possession, etc., of narcotic drugs or psychotropic substance.
Under the Act, drug traffickers can be detained for a period of one to two years, so as to prevent them from indulging in such illegal activities.
Earlier, on 29th September 2010 Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir, had issued warrants under PSA against four persons Wali Mohammed Bhat S/o Abdul Majeed Bhat R/o Reshipora, Awantipora (Pulwama), Ghulam Mohammed Bhat S/o Late Abdul Ganai Bhat R/o Reshipora Ullar Tehsil Awantipora, Shabir Ahmed Parray S/o Mohammed Kamal Parray R/o Charsoo, Katipora Awantipora and Mukhtar Ahmed Bhat S/o Ghulam Rasool Bhat R/o Kunjipora, Pulwama.


  © Thanks for visiting Only Kashmir

Back to TOP